The Japanese park and garden, reserved primarily for patients and their families, are available to groups by reservation. Designed in the 1970s by Dr. Hamon, director of the medical center, this garden was inspired by a Japanese manuscript of the twelfth century, the Sakutei-ki. River dry, red bridge thrown across a stream, waterfall, pond, path lined with lanterns, are enclosed in a selected composition of conifers, rhododendrons and perennials. The serenity of the garden contributes to the well-being of patients and to the delight of all visitors.
The gardens of this Renaissance castle was redesigned in 1928 in the Italian style like the gardens of the Villa Gamberaia, above Florence, themselves restored in the early twentieth century. In this photo montage with the Italianate Vexin as a backdrop, three terraces down to the Aubette flowing down. The Garden of the Moon is inspired by the Andrea Mantegna's (1431-1506)painting, Minerva Expelling the Vices from the Garden of Virtue (Louvre) - in the garden of the Sun, inspired by a fresco of Paul Bril (1553 -1626), a huge chessboard whose squares are lined with daffodils in the spring of botanical, deploys his pawns cut yew topiary.
In schools, The Nature Workshops are a service of environmental education implemented by the City to support teachers in their gardening , sustainable development and biodiversity projects thanks to educational interventions in the classroom or on the ground. Within the family, the Horticultural Centre, with its "Jardin des sens" and educational pool, offers all year long (on reservation) activities for adults and children from 8 to 12 and free internships of environmental education for school holidays.
The fourteen hectares of municipal park offers an health trail, playgrounds and rest and vast grass planted many species of trees and flowering shrubs. The rural atmosphere in places gives to the locations an air of countryside.
After the Cistercians, who modeled the landscape of the area by channeling Ysieux and New Thève, industrialists who succeeded them after 1791 have developed new waterway.
In the nineteenth century, the nuns of the "Saint-Famille" (Holy Familly) planted tree-lined avenues and built a small cave still visible. Traces of all these periods weave an enchanting atmosphere.
The medieval garden, created in 2004 by Edith Valler et Olivier Damée , is organized around nine square of culture near the ancient kitchens and monk's refectory.
Since June 2010, it houses a new collection of power, symbols and magical vegetation, beneficial or evil, used in medicine or witchcraft. This composition is added to the cloister garden designed in 1912 by Achille Duchene (1866-1947). Quiet room isolated from the world but largely opens to the sky, it consists of four beds with geometric design, surrounded by boxwood and dotted with cypress trees, arranged around an octagonal pool.
Classified as an historic monument, it has just been restored by Pierre-Andre Lablaude, chief architect.
The Castle of Auvers-sur-Oise, built in the seventeenth century, hosts the interactive exhibition "Journey to the time of the Impressionists". In a park of five hectares, a formal garden said in the "French style" unfolds near the castle. Terraced, it is adorned with embroidery of boxwood, a labyrinth of arbors, a gazebo, a nymph inlaid with shells, a temporary garden and an orangery devoted to temporary exhibitions.
Built in 1861 by Charles-Francois Daubigny, this house was the meeting point of his friends landscaper, Corot, Daumier and Berthe Morisot. You will admire the walls of the workshop, the outstanding footprint that everyone has left.
A beautiful pond adds to the charm of this pleasant forest park of 55 hectares.
16,000 sqm of greenery devoted to walking and games in an area with trees, fountains and grass.
Large mansion of the nineteenth century, the house acquired by the actor in 1954 is built in a park of five hectares, the chestnut trees, the terraces of fruit trees planted in the past, large trees along the Oise and the former greenhouses encourage calm and serenity.
The "castle at the bottom" or "old castle", located at the bottom of a valley well watered, remain a corner tower, the manor of Ninon and the court of common. The whole is contained in a garden inspired by the Renaissance and composed of terraces, ponds and boxwood embroidery as drawn on water. Creation in the eighteenth century, the "castle at the top" has transformed the forest into a traditional garden. Large statues from the Villa d'Este in Côme, and Altieri palace in Rome, frame the farthingale, glaze grass amphitheater, which runs from the front to a pond fed by thirty-two sources. The area is home to the association within its walls are The Source object is to educate children about contemporary art and popular rural University with a conference program is available on the website.
Property of the Val d'Oise, Schlumberger Park covers nearly eight hectares on the hillside overlooking the Seine. Juxtaposing wooded areas, landscaping and children's games, it is home to many species of trees: maple, beech, yew, giant sequoia, gleditsia but also apple, pear, cherry ...
Domont planted in 2010 sixty fruit trees from forty species to aid in pollination. The city passed to the "zero insecticide", preferring to strengthen the immune system of the trees rather than treat them excessively. Poppies's Park, located in downtown is open all year long and at any time. Its eight hectares receive a differentiated management through mowing and planting flowers. The park offers a fitness trail, playgrounds and gardens for familly.
A pedestrian road, a bicycle path, a square for children, a playground for teenagers, an area for petanque players and hundreds trees contribute to the approval of this green space of over three hectares.
Located near the castle of the same name, the garden of The Chesnaie is the showcase of municipal actions in terms of differentiated management. You can discover the diverse mix of grassland used for the flowering of the town.
Acquired by the city several years ago, this beautiful park of secular trees regularly hosts municipal or associative events.
Castle Écouen is one of the finest examples of French Renaissance architecture. It was built in the sixteenth century for the Constable Anne de Montmorency (1493-1567) on the edge of a hill overlooking the Plain of France. You can admire the prestigious collections of the National Museum of the Renaissance but also stroll in the park whose designer of the prospects was Jules Hardouin Mansart (1646-1708). South and west, the park is bordered by a forest, a remnant of a large hunting area.
A fountain cascading water leads to the shores of the lake between arbors covered with roses emerging. This garden extends the walk, with timeless charm, the shores of Lake Enghien.
Nestled in a wooded park of about fifty acres, Champlâtreux Castle, built between 1751 and 1757 for Mathieu-François Molé (1705-1793), Chairman of the Parliament of Paris, is a smart example of the "coutry houses "designed for parties and receptions. Friend of Count Molé, François-René de Chateaubriand (1768-1848) often stayed during the Restoration. A century later, the poet Anna de Noailles (1876-1933) liked to go there with her in-laws, the Duke and Duchess de Noailles.
This former rectory of the eighteenth century was the last haven of Jacques-Henri Bernardin de Saint-Pierre (1737-1814), writer and botanist friend of Jean-Jacques Rousseau. Restored in 2008, it houses a garden of perennials, flowering shrubs and roses, where are held once a month "Mercredis nature" open on the arts, natural phenomena, botany and ecology. A lift allows disabled access to the garden. Not far from home, a trip to the banks of the Oise is recommended.
The castle was acquired in 1788 by chemist Antoine Alexis Cadet de Vaux (1743-1828). The eighteenth century landscape park is planted with interesting specimens: a redwood and yew are listed in the inventory of remarkable trees of the department. Supervised by the city gardeners, school children who realize plantations. A greenhouse of 400 square meters produces 90,000 plants needed per season for flower beds in town.
Urban arboretum, this park built around the theme of biodiversity offers seven hectares with about fifty species of trees, hedges and fields, a pond, flower meadows and native plants. Its management is eco-friendly : late mowing, mulching, maintenance of plantes without chemical treatment.
Both nursery and garden, Nathalie Becq's "Le Jardin de Campagne" (the Coutry Garden) is in the sweetness of the Vexin. It invites a bucolic walk among his collections of perennials and old roses around an eighteenth-century dovecote. The Country Garden is a member of the Association of Nurserymen Collectors.
Traditional farm house in Ile-de-France, on the edge of the wood of Hautil, the farm of Écancourt is a link between the city and countryside. Managed by the Farm of Écancourt, an Association for Environmental Education, it consists in a farm, an educational garden, an initiation center to nature and environment and a group cottage. The association offers to families and their children, from 3 years, many activities around three themes: the agricultural, ecology and sustainable development.
Prince Louis-François de Bourbon-Conti (1717-1776), who had bought the domain to install his favorite, asked the architect Pierre Contant d'Ivry (1698-1777) to redesign the castle and to construct the double terrace overlooking the Oise. In 1944, a bombing destroyed the castle and the third of the castel was detroyed and damaged the spectacular monumental park's terraces and their two Chinese pavilions. The owners are working to restore all with passion, energy and determination. The association A.R.B.R.E.S. awarded in 2007 his label "Remarkable Trees of France" to all the trees of the domain.
The Chinese Pavilion is one of three follies of the eighteenth century which still existing in France. It's said that tt was designed in Italy by the painter Fragonard, who accompanied in 1774 the Receiver General of Finance : Bergeret. His son decided to build it in the park of his castle of Cassan. It is built on an octagonal plan. Its double roof looks like a pagoda and rests on a peristyle of eight wooden pillars and supports a mast weighted with bronze bells. It has just been restored under the direction of Peter Andre Lablaude, chief architect of historical monuments.
The cultivation of garden and orchard allows the castle to offer visitors a whole range of products, all from the garden and grown without any synthesis chemical : apple jam, apple / cinnamon, apple / walnut, apple / caramel pear jam, canned green beans, snap beans, butter beans and kidney beans viola, zucchini soup, squash soup, pear juice, apple juice / pear, apple juice, pear nectar and sparkling pear . You find all these products in the castle shop!
This attractive flower garden of 2716 sqm is composed of 2500 plants of over 400 varieties installed under the shade of a copper beech dating from the Enlightenment.
Francois Mathieu Mole (1705-1793), Chairman of the Parliament of Paris, did redesign the Renaissance castle and replant the park, it's said that it was on the advice of the naturalist Georges-Louis Buffon (1707-1788). Looted during the Revolution, the gardens were redesigned in 1846 by Louis Varé Sulpice (1808-1883). Now owned by the town, the castle park, covering an area of twenty-seven hectares, offers the public its majestic spaces deployed around large ornamental ponds. Recently renovated, the botanical garden experiment, created by landscape architect Pascal Cribier in 1999 around the water cycle, is open to the public.
Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778), who lived in Montmorency from 1756 to 1762, moved to Mont-Louis in 1757. It is in the narrow space of his garden and his little house, with his wife and his friends, that he gave birth to the most elaborate principles of his political thought. Through the exhibitions that it has organized, the museum illustrates the universality of the thought of the "Citoyen de Genève". In the garden, you will discover the arbor where he received his friends and the Dungeon, where each day, he isolated himself to write.
Nature in the city Winding staircases, shady glades, steep and narrow paths completely disorient the walker, only four leagues separate him from the capital! Browse picturesque paths of Montmorency along marked hiking trails. Come and discover 7 tours, from 1.3 to 3.5 km. Ask the information booklet about the discovery tours to the Tourist Office of Montmorency.
Property of the Val d'Oise Department and the city of Osny, the Grouchy domain holds forty-one hectares in the valley of the Viosne. It alternates woodland, pond and sweeping lawns. Its environmental management meets the wetlands in order to encourage the return of plant species, including orchids. Included in the Inventory of historical monuments, the castle has the same name that the last private owners of the place, the "Marquis Jean de Grouchy", great-grand son of Marshal d'Empire Emmanuel de Grouchy (1768-1847). It houses the town hall since 1989. The large-leaved linden that shading it, high of about thirty meters, is among the remarkable trees of the department.
Visitors can explore different environments (meadows, ponds, riverbanks, woods, hedges, gardens ...) and get information and advice on their management. CAUE implements throughout the year a cycle of activities to inform elected officials, technical officials and individuals, about practices that respect the quality of our landscape and our environment.
Nice refuge perched on the hills of Pontoise, "le Jardin des 5 Sens" (the Garden of Five Senses), planted with fragrant perennials and surrounded by hedges, has been specially designed to accommodate the visually impaired. Braille labeling allows them to associate the name of the plant to its texture or scent.
Contemporary art site of the General Council of Val d'Oise, the Maubuisson's domain homed buildings and ruins of the Cistercian abbey "Notre-Dame-La-Royal", founded in 1236 by Queen "Blanche de Castile" (1188-1252) . The tithe barn of the thirteenth century, the parlor, the hall of the nuns, the chapter house and the old latrine can be visited. Stream, waterway and reflecting pools, witness water projects built between the Middle Ages and the eighteenth century, endow the park of ten acres. Inserted in an urban environment, it offers walkers broad lawns and its old plane trees, labeled "Remarkable Trees of France". Served by a green corridor, it represents works of art, lasting or ephemeral.
Ecological reserve of fauna and flora in the forest, the area of the "Chateau de la Chasse" witnessed walks of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) and Bernard de Jussieu (1699-1777). It is now a property of the National Forests Office. The cemetery of the naturalist Louis Augustin Bosc (1759-1828), nestled on a hill shaded, is a memorial to all botanists.
This castle, modest and discreet, in his "wooded case" seems dated of the XVII century. Some historians however point out, the presence of a "tour of the White Queen" which could mean that the present castle was erected on the remains of a dungeon. In the 28 hectare park, we notice an excavation of the old icehouse whose "archway" collapsed and a "Temple of Bliss".
The manor of Hazeville, built in 1560 on a site which overlooks the plain of Wy, has been dramatically transformed in the nineteenth century. Guy Deneck, owner, cutting the Angels in his hedge, embroiders his lawn with ground glass, transforms trees into witches and old farm tools into works of art.
Attached to his local history, the General advice of the Val-d'Oise acquired in 2005 the Museum of the Tool, Claude and Françoise Pigeard and his fabulous garden. After restoration works and a new scenography, the museum reopened with the public in 2011.