Discover the preserved Vincent van Gogh's world at the Auberge Ravoux. The tour ends with an audiovisual commentary by van Gogh himself with extracts from his correspondence.
Built in 1861 by Charles-Francois Daubigny, this house was the meeting point of his friends landscaper, Corot, Daumier and Berthe Morisot. You will admire the walls of the workshop, the outstanding footprint that everyone has left.
Doctor and a member of the scientists societies, amateur painter and printmaker, Dr. Gachet bought a house in Auvers-sur-Oise in 1872. In 1890, he welcomed Vincent Van Gogh at his arrival in Auvers. The shady courtyard of lime trees still remind us the lunch around the"vermillon" table immortalized by Vincent Van Gogh in Dr. Gachet's portraits.
Since 1987, the museum features works of Daubigny Charles-Francois, his son Karl and of artists of their entourage who had painted in Auvers-sur-Oise. This collection of paintings, drawings, watercolors and engravings is complemented by a contemporary art collection of famous artists (Alechinsky, Clave, Messagier ...), a section of feline animal art from the collection Lavech Chancy and a background of folk art in memory of Henri Rousseau who also painted in Auvers. A temporary exhibition also takes place at least once a year
From manufacturing secrets of the liquor to its prohibition in 1915, the Museum of Absinthe takes you through the entire nineteenth century. Ritual objects, advertisements, lithograph posters, prints and paintings immerse you in the company of the "Belle Epoque", where absinthe is everywhere. The literary cafe, reconstituted on the first floor, recreates the atmosphere of these places where the legendary Green Fairy is the muse of artists at the time of the Impressionists.
Discover the small steam trains that served our country in the past. The museum features a collection of railway vehicles of the former railway county, saved and restored by volunteers of the association. Some days, you can do a short train ride aboard authentic steam cars of the nineteenth century.
Urban trail of two miles in the tradition of the great prospects of French gardens, the "Axe Majeur", designed by israeli artist and architect Dani Karavan, sculpts the Cergy's landscape towards Paris. Divided into twelve stations, it spans the river Oise to the Leisure Center by the majestic red footbridge.
Located in the village of Commeny, in the heart of theFrench Vexin, "la Maison du Pain" is located in the former granary flour in a bakery in activity. From prehistoric slabs to te bread that we eat today, the site invites visitors to discover a food as old as world. "House of Bread" devotes a large section to the educational activity for young people and school: kneading and shaping dough to take home and cook at home.
Discover the past centuries Cormeilles en Parisis and made ??a dive at a time when the vines were running on the hills, the corn waved in the plain and when the great bloodletting of the Career Lambert gushed from the hill. You can also admire a collection of articles of plaster of various bills and their tools, and the studio collection of the sculptor Georges Boulogne (1926-1992). Meet the native son Louis Jacques Mande Daguerre (1787-1851) and his formidable process, the Daguerreotype.
Visit this museum, located in the former concierge of the Chevrette's castle, is like doing a travel through the time, it's like living an extraordinary adventure through these places full of memories, some of which have left no visible trace. It is also discover the life of our ancestors, from the smallest to the most affluent, from the country life to the castle life.
Architectural gem of the French Renaissance, just 19 km north of Paris, between Roissy and Chantilly, the collections of the National Museum of the Renaissance are real treasures of European decorative arts: furniture, jewelry, painted enamels, majolica, tapestries...
Rich of his history and pictorial heritage, Ecouen offers through its "Pathways of painters" to find out what was the mark of many artists in the 19th century. The presence of different painters will make the town one of the most famous centers of the painting of this kind, that is to say, realistic painting representing peasant life daily. You will discover through the 10 stages of the journey, the houses that belonged to the now famous painters!
Come and paint in a secret and romantic place!
Based on the former site of the distillery Garnier, the Arts Centre is defined as a venue for exhibitions, productions, residencies, reflection, mediation, dissemination, developing expertise around digital writing and hybrid forms creation.
The archaeological museum of the Val-d'Oise, labeled Museum of France, is a site of the General Council.
The museum has a fascinating collection of works related to the glorious past of the city: paintings of the School of banks of the Oise around Jules Dupre (1811-1899) , Giulio Romano Joyant's (1803-1854) Venetian drawings and almost 200 figures illustrating the many aspects of the production of terracotta L'Isle-Adam of the late nineteenth century to the 50s, are some examples.
In the late nineteenth century, the Impressionists set up their easels in La Frette. The landscape and light have also been immortalized by their brush strokes! The banks of the Seine to promote and share its heritage, the city has set up a "walk of painters." This course made up of reproductions of paintings by Marquet, Pissarro, Daubigny, Camoin, Barber ... placed at the spot where they were painted. Follow this track, punctuated with 19 stations and scour the banks of the Seine, the paths and streets of the city. You can see and compare the view and work of the artist who painted this landscape, some years ago.
Within a contemporary building, ARCHEA proposes to introduce the country's history of France through the results of archaeological research for 30 years.
A museum dedicated to the actor, who spent his childhood and adolescence in Meriel. Many personal memories (letters, films, ...) are presented in a scenario as animated on the theme "The film of his life, the life of his films."
From 1757 to 1762 he lived in a little house of Mont-Louis, the current museum Jean-Jacques Rousseau, where he wrote "La Nouvelle Heloise," "L'Emile" and the "Contrat Social". The lifestyle of the writer is output through documents and testimony of the period - temporary exhibitions on the life and work of Rousseau and the eighteenth century and local history, complete the visit. The garden covers the arbor and the "Dungeon", Rousseau's workplace. The "Maison des Commères" next to the museum houses The Rousseau's research library opens to everybody.
Space William Thornley has the largest collection ever assembled to date of this Post-Impressionist painter. The collection comprises 190 works, including 42 oils and watercolors by William Thornley, but also 120 drawings in charcoal or pencil. Alongside those of William Thornley, you can also admire the works of Veron, Camille Pissarro, Degas, Veyrassat, Monet and Eugene Duke in the various rooms spread over 300sqm.
Housed in the former stables of the Château de Grouchy, the museum has an excellent location in the park of Grouchy. In a large hall of 1200 sqm, is shown fighting equipment against fire from the 18th century to today. Room traces the history of uniforms, helmets and caps from 1830 to 1960. Finally, a room, especially for children, to discover an impressive collection of toys, the oldest dating from the 19th century.
Collections dedicated to the landscapers have been a steady acquisition policy for the Pissarro Museum opened to the 150th anniversary of the birth of the master. These exhibitions feature works by Pissarro and his sons Lucien, Georges and Ludovic-Rodo but Daubigny, Guillaumin, Signac, Hayet, Piette, Cézanne, Caillebotte, or Goeneutte Thornley.
In a beautiful mansion house of the late 15th century, home of the Grand Vicar of Pontoise in the past, the Museum Tavet-Delacour preserves the historical collections of the City, collections of modern and contemporary art and collections dedicated to the landscaper painters of the nineteenth century.
If you stay at the center of the unspoilt village of Roissy-en-France, enjoy to visit the House Environment airport Paris-Charles de Gaulle. An exhibition shows the territory, the airport activity and its role in the development of the Ile de France: impact of infrastructure, traffic and air traffic control (takeoffs, landings, weather), economic benefits. Depth visits are organized to penetrate this fascinating place.
Located in the bread basket of the Paris basin, the museum of "La Moisson" (the Harvest) features in an old farmhouse, the major technical and social changes which accompanied this epic cereal throughout the twentieth century. The museum has a remarkable collection of tools and machinery made ??by the Reapers's Association of Sagy. Mowers, threshers, steam engine, treadmill ... All machines are still in working order, the oldest dating from 1880. Pictures and testimonies from farmers of the French Vexin enhance the visit, completing a projection about the evolution of the agricultural society.
This mill, located 162 meters above sea level at the top of the hill of Mount Trouillet, gives a broad view of the surroundings. From up there, you can admire the Seine valley, which extends to Paris and the valley of Montmorency, bordered by a wooded ridge. Included in the inventory of historical monuments since 1975, the Mill and Miller's House are also protected under the appelation "artistic and picturesque site". Near the Mill, the vineyard was established 7 years ago, has 2049 trees, including 400 of "Pinot Gris" and "Chardonnay" of 1650.
Discover the history of boxing through exceptional objects. The presentation leads adults and children behind the scenes of boxing around the reconstruction of the world of boxing, where are display all the objects of the training and boxers's fetishes trophies . A set of posters, prints and old photos and sculpture show the incredible enthusiasm of all social classes, to artists, for this sport sometimes misjudged.
Valadon-Utrillo Museum opened in 1995 in the Villa Rozée. If this is the old City Hall Sannois, this mansion of the eighteenth century is also one of the oldest monuments of the town. Transformations, which have kept its authenticity, gave him a cultural and heritage vocation, ideal for hosting a museum. Until then, Utrillo-Valadon Museum was dedicated to hosting a unique collection of works of famous painters such as Maurice Utrillo, Suzanne Valadon and André Utter. Nowadays it has two exhibitions areas: the first one is permanent and features works belonging to the city - the other hosts temporary exhibitions.
Opened in 1993, the Naval Museum is a museum association, created by the Marine's Association of Sarcelle and its region, an association founded in 1969. 150 sqm of models, photographs and other objects tell the story of these brave men and their ships ... The reconstruction of a cockpit allows you to take the helm. The Maritime Museum of France invites you to discover more than three centuries of its history.
The tower is located in Saint-Martin-du-Tertre, the highest village in the Ile de France and 200 meters above sea level and nicknamed the "BALCON DE L'ILE DE FRANCE".
Located in the Théméricourt's mansion, the museum of French Vexin is an invitation to discover a land of exceptional landscape and architectural qualities. Visitors can explore during the museum's educational tour some spaces on geology and reading the landscape and play areas on fauna, flora or construction. Immersed in the bucolic charm of the territory through the audiovisual show "If the Vexin were tell ", then it enters in the privacy of a home with the presentation of the collection of art objects and popular tradition held by the spouses Vasseur, ardent defenders of the French Vexin.
Le Moulin de la Naze, formerly home to the Mill, is part of the network of museums and theme houses of the Regional Natural Park of French Vexin. Park values the French Vexin territory and traditional activities which are associated with it: harvesting, milling and bread. Pulleys, cogs and gears set the scene of a forgotten space that brings to life the animated model of a water mill of the eighteenth century. Upon arrival, garden and ground floor plunge visitors into the atmosphere of yesteryear: the waterwheel restored the spectacle of its large blades immersed in the thunderous Sausseron. The history and techniques of Valmondois millers and the region are subject to large display boards and models to be discovered by walking inside the Moulin de la Naze.
Located in the heart of the village of Vauréal in a beautiful farmhouse of 2500sqm, completely renovated in the respect of tradition, the "Cour des Arts" (the Court of Arts) gathers creators artisans and art restorers who work on the wood, earth, metal precious, glass, textile, paper, cardboard, concrete ...
The museum Vémars is the evocation of the place of Francois Mauriac in this village. Inside the Chateau de la Motte rehabilitated, there is the workroom of the writer. Many memories are presented, including a very large collection of books. A comprehensive document analyzing the work of F. Mauriac shows the slow evolution of the Girondin to unconditional eternal rest he found at Vémars. Another traces the history of the property.
Witnessed a turn of the century, the museum takes you back in time and wondered about the evolution of society, its impact on our attitudes and our lifestyles.
The manor of Hazeville, built in 1560 on a site which overlooks the plain of Wy, has been dramatically transformed in the nineteenth century. Guy Deneck, owner, cutting the Angels in his hedge, embroiders his lawn with ground glass, transforms trees into witches and old farm tools into works of art.
Attached to his local history, the General advice of the Val-d'Oise acquired in 2005 the Museum of the Tool, Claude and Françoise Pigeard and his fabulous garden. After restoration works and a new scenography, the museum reopened with the public in 2011.