Feudal castle, changed during the Renaissance, leather lounge, tapestries's gallery, ebony cabinets, Italian terraced gardens, theater of greenery, ponds and water staircase, monumental game of chess, linden bi-centenary.
This collective grave, discovered by chance in early 1867, forms a corridor covered with large slabs of sandstone. The excavations, undertaken by Leguay, uncover a large number of human remains and a large amount of material that current archaeologists attribute to the civilization of the Seine-Oise-Marne, in the end of the Neolithic age. Some of the furniture is preserved in the Museum of National Antiquities in Saint-Germain-en-Laye.
Each month discover the heritage of Argenteuil and art history. Lectures and free guided tours of the city are organized for all thanks to the operation "The Heritage Sunday" and "Wednesday heritage".
Surrounded by streams and near from a bird reserve, Royaumont Abbey was built in the thirteenth century by Saint Louis. Located in a protected environment, the abbey still stands in the middle of ponds and forests. Its cloister and refectory are among the finest. The park and gardens are perfect to strolling. Since 2004 a medieval garden "the garden of nine squares" is open, it hosts every three years a new collection of plants. Since June 2010, the "magic plants" are " in the spotlight.
Discover the preserved Vincent van Gogh's world at the Auberge Ravoux. The tour ends with an audiovisual commentary by van Gogh himself with extracts from his correspondence.
The Château d'Auvers was constructed during the 17th century for an Italian banker of the suite of Marie de Médici.
Built in 1861 by Charles-Francois Daubigny, this house was the meeting point of his friends landscaper, Corot, Daumier and Berthe Morisot. You will admire the walls of the workshop, the outstanding footprint that everyone has left.
Doctor and a member of the scientists societies, amateur painter and printmaker, Dr. Gachet bought a house in Auvers-sur-Oise in 1872. In 1890, he welcomed Vincent Van Gogh at his arrival in Auvers. The shady courtyard of lime trees still remind us the lunch around the"vermillon" table immortalized by Vincent Van Gogh in Dr. Gachet's portraits.
Since 1987, the museum features works of Daubigny Charles-Francois, his son Karl and of artists of their entourage who had painted in Auvers-sur-Oise. This collection of paintings, drawings, watercolors and engravings is complemented by a contemporary art collection of famous artists (Alechinsky, Clave, Messagier ...), a section of feline animal art from the collection Lavech Chancy and a background of folk art in memory of Henri Rousseau who also painted in Auvers. A temporary exhibition also takes place at least once a year
From manufacturing secrets of the liquor to its prohibition in 1915, the Museum of Absinthe takes you through the entire nineteenth century. Ritual objects, advertisements, lithograph posters, prints and paintings immerse you in the company of the "Belle Epoque", where absinthe is everywhere. The literary cafe, reconstituted on the first floor, recreates the atmosphere of these places where the legendary Green Fairy is the muse of artists at the time of the Impressionists.
The Tourist Office of Auvers-sur-Oise offers Guided walks in the village or groups previously assembled, all year long and by appointment. These tours last about two hours and can find places where life and creativity of painters such as Daubigny, Cézanne and Van Gogh. Different themes are available such as "the footsteps of Van Gogh", "the footsteps of Cezanne", "Auvers and the Masters" and "memory locations".
Discover the small steam trains that served our country in the past. The museum features a collection of railway vehicles of the former railway county, saved and restored by volunteers of the association. Some days, you can do a short train ride aboard authentic steam cars of the nineteenth century.
Urban trail of two miles in the tradition of the great prospects of French gardens, the "Axe Majeur", designed by israeli artist and architect Dani Karavan, sculpts the Cergy's landscape towards Paris. Divided into twelve stations, it spans the river Oise to the Leisure Center by the majestic red footbridge.
Menhir the "Pierre Fouret" or "Palet de Gargantua." In the wooded area of the nursing home "the Menhir".
Villarceaux is a unique combination: its 70-hectare park and its two castles (XVIth century manor and castle of the eighteenth). The origin of the castle of the bottom dates from the twelfth century. Rebuilt and fortified, there are three elements left : - A corner tower called "Tower of Convicts" or Saint-Nicolas Tower with walls that surround it and the former stately home. - The "Manoir de Ninon" of the sixteenth century in the waterfront with its tower and archway. - The coach which had a to circle a closed vcourtyard composed of two towers to the west. Designed by Jean-Baptiste Courtonne, the castle at the top is a perfect example of the great vacation homes or receiver built in the eighteenth century by the aristocracy or the bourgeoisie. The park has received the label "Remarkable Garden" from the Ministry of Culture in 1994. It illustrates the different historical periods that have changed the field. The medieval garden is a faithful replica of the monastic garden.
Located in the village of Commeny, in the heart of theFrench Vexin, "la Maison du Pain" is located in the former granary flour in a bakery in activity. From prehistoric slabs to te bread that we eat today, the site invites visitors to discover a food as old as world. "House of Bread" devotes a large section to the educational activity for young people and school: kneading and shaping dough to take home and cook at home.
Discover the past centuries Cormeilles en Parisis and made ??a dive at a time when the vines were running on the hills, the corn waved in the plain and when the great bloodletting of the Career Lambert gushed from the hill. You can also admire a collection of articles of plaster of various bills and their tools, and the studio collection of the sculptor Georges Boulogne (1926-1992). Meet the native son Louis Jacques Mande Daguerre (1787-1851) and his formidable process, the Daguerreotype.
Fort Cormeilles-Parisis is one of the largest military forts in Ile de France.
Visit this museum, located in the former concierge of the Chevrette's castle, is like doing a travel through the time, it's like living an extraordinary adventure through these places full of memories, some of which have left no visible trace. It is also discover the life of our ancestors, from the smallest to the most affluent, from the country life to the castle life.
20 minutes from Paris and 10 minutes from the lake and the casino d'Enghien, the castle of La Chesnaie, classified as "Historic Monument" is exceptional for its architectural purity and harmony of its proportions. Terraces open onto a beautiful park with trees.
The Saint-Acceul Church is located in the middle of the Val d'Oise, in the town of Ecouen. You can discover one of the jewels of this patrimony !
Architectural gem of the French Renaissance, just 19 km north of Paris, between Roissy and Chantilly, the collections of the National Museum of the Renaissance are real treasures of European decorative arts: furniture, jewelry, painted enamels, majolica, tapestries...
Rich of his history and pictorial heritage, Ecouen offers through its "Pathways of painters" to find out what was the mark of many artists in the 19th century. The presence of different painters will make the town one of the most famous centers of the painting of this kind, that is to say, realistic painting representing peasant life daily. You will discover through the 10 stages of the journey, the houses that belonged to the now famous painters!
Come and paint in a secret and romantic place!
Based on the former site of the distillery Garnier, the Arts Centre is defined as a venue for exhibitions, productions, residencies, reflection, mediation, dissemination, developing expertise around digital writing and hybrid forms creation.
Enghien-les-Bains's guided Tours
April to september 2013
Informations :+33 (0)1 34 12 41 15
At the heart of the country of France, Château de Champlâtreux was built from 1751 to 1757 by Jean-Baptiste Molé.
In the Morval wood, you picnic in the shade of your ancestors. Excavated in 1916 and 1919, the alley has delivered a major hardware and bones corresponding to 200 people. Restored in 1973, it can receive people who wants to visit the burial chamber. But nothing morbid, because despite his vocation funeral, the covered walkway from Wood-Couturier is a laughing place, which opens on the clear horizon of the valley of the Aubette.
Built in the second half of the 17th century, the Guiry castle is associated with the famous French architect Mansart.
It is a very beautiful monument, located in the heart of the village of Guiry.
The castle, the front court with its estate buildings, the ruins of the first castle and the church are classified as Monuments Historiques.
The archaeological museum of the Val-d'Oise, labeled Museum of France, is a site of the General Council.
A set of monumental terraces (ISMH) decorated with two Chinese pavilions overlooking the castle damaged in 1944, being restored.
The museum has a fascinating collection of works related to the glorious past of the city: paintings of the School of banks of the Oise around Jules Dupre (1811-1899) , Giulio Romano Joyant's (1803-1854) Venetian drawings and almost 200 figures illustrating the many aspects of the production of terracotta L'Isle-Adam of the late nineteenth century to the 50s, are some examples.
In the late nineteenth century, the Impressionists set up their easels in La Frette. The landscape and light have also been immortalized by their brush strokes! The banks of the Seine to promote and share its heritage, the city has set up a "walk of painters." This course made up of reproductions of paintings by Marquet, Pissarro, Daubigny, Camoin, Barber ... placed at the spot where they were painted. Follow this track, punctuated with 19 stations and scour the banks of the Seine, the paths and streets of the city. You can see and compare the view and work of the artist who painted this landscape, some years ago.
Discover thousand years of history in a country setting cherished by the Impressionist painters.
Within a contemporary building, ARCHEA proposes to introduce the country's history of France through the results of archaeological research for 30 years.
At 14 kilometers from the new town of Cergy-Pontoise, the Abbey Notre-Dame du Val is the oldest Cistercian foundation of the Ile de France. It precedes the other famous abbeys Royaumont and Maubuisson more than a century . What remains of the buildings of the monastic enclosure has been declared a historic monument in 1945 and 1947. As for the field, it is classified in the Inventory of sites to be protected since 1950. The origins of the abbey dates back to 1125 when a group of Cistercian monks from the Abbey Cour-Dieu in the forest of Orleans settled near a source, near the village of Mériel. In the thirteenth century, the generosity of the lordsof the religion of the region allows to the religious to expand their monastery. The monks part dates from this time, and is still standing today. In 1791, the Abbey Notre-Dame du Val ceases all religious activity: it was declared national property and sold for 58,000 pounds to Louis Nicolas Varlet, Drappier master in Paris. It remains only a part of the gristmill of the Abbey's farm. It was supplied with water by a derivation of the Vieux-Moûtiers's creek.
A museum dedicated to the actor, who spent his childhood and adolescence in Meriel. Many personal memories (letters, films, ...) are presented in a scenario as animated on the theme "The film of his life, the life of his films."
"... When Jean Gabin entered in the old cemetery of Meriel, he often spent before the family Lannes de Montebello's grave. He had no idea that much later, he would interpret the role of Marshal Lannes in "Napoleon" by Sacha Guitry "(Extract from document produced by the tourist Office Mériel).
The "Saint Martin's" church in Montmorency is a Gothic church. Located on a rocky outcrop and preceded by a terrace, it overlooks the valley of Montmorency.
Nature in the city Winding staircases, shady glades, steep and narrow paths completely disorient the walker, only four leagues separate him from the capital! Browse picturesque paths of Montmorency along marked hiking trails. Come and discover 7 tours, from 1.3 to 3.5 km. Ask the information booklet about the discovery tours to the Tourist Office of Montmorency.
From 1757 to 1762 he lived in a little house of Mont-Louis, the current museum Jean-Jacques Rousseau, where he wrote "La Nouvelle Heloise," "L'Emile" and the "Contrat Social". The lifestyle of the writer is output through documents and testimony of the period - temporary exhibitions on the life and work of Rousseau and the eighteenth century and local history, complete the visit. The garden covers the arbor and the "Dungeon", Rousseau's workplace. The "Maison des Commères" next to the museum houses The Rousseau's research library opens to everybody.
From the rocky spur of the Collegiate church, enjoy the discovery of the landscape. Between History and geography, an experience to understand the evolution of the territory.
Booking at the Tourist Office.
Space William Thornley has the largest collection ever assembled to date of this Post-Impressionist painter. The collection comprises 190 works, including 42 oils and watercolors by William Thornley, but also 120 drawings in charcoal or pencil. Alongside those of William Thornley, you can also admire the works of Veron, Camille Pissarro, Degas, Veyrassat, Monet and Eugene Duke in the various rooms spread over 300sqm.
Housed in the former stables of the Château de Grouchy, the museum has an excellent location in the park of Grouchy. In a large hall of 1200 sqm, is shown fighting equipment against fire from the 18th century to today. Room traces the history of uniforms, helmets and caps from 1830 to 1960. Finally, a room, especially for children, to discover an impressive collection of toys, the oldest dating from the 19th century.
Collections dedicated to the landscapers have been a steady acquisition policy for the Pissarro Museum opened to the 150th anniversary of the birth of the master. These exhibitions feature works by Pissarro and his sons Lucien, Georges and Ludovic-Rodo but Daubigny, Guillaumin, Signac, Hayet, Piette, Cézanne, Caillebotte, or Goeneutte Thornley.
In a beautiful mansion house of the late 15th century, home of the Grand Vicar of Pontoise in the past, the Museum Tavet-Delacour preserves the historical collections of the City, collections of modern and contemporary art and collections dedicated to the landscaper painters of the nineteenth century.
Underground heritage of the old Pontoise. Through a guided tour, discover the history of Pontoise through his career, extraction wells, vaulted rooms, stairways hand, military works of the twelfth to the seventeenth century and some of its monuments, squares and streets.
A course of 2 hours is offered in French, English and German:
Discover the many facets of the historic heart of Pontoise by borrowing picturesque streets. The circuit consists of 20 main points that you can deepen with 15 additional comments. This plan gives you all the information to do this in a relaxed audioguide tour.
If you stay at the center of the unspoilt village of Roissy-en-France, enjoy to visit the House Environment airport Paris-Charles de Gaulle. An exhibition shows the territory, the airport activity and its role in the development of the Ile de France: impact of infrastructure, traffic and air traffic control (takeoffs, landings, weather), economic benefits. Depth visits are organized to penetrate this fascinating place.
The Tourist Office has set up offers according to the expectations of those stopping. Visitors can rent bikes and walk through the stunning Green Valley and a pedestrian path to discovery the village is also proposed. It can be followed with an audio-guide, produced in three languages??: Spanish, English and French. Box in hand, simply type the number corresponding to where you are to have complete information about the monuments, such as the twelfth-century church, the streets ... So, Roissy-en-France will no longer have any secrets for you!
Located in the bread basket of the Paris basin, the museum of "La Moisson" (the Harvest) features in an old farmhouse, the major technical and social changes which accompanied this epic cereal throughout the twentieth century. The museum has a remarkable collection of tools and machinery made ??by the Reapers's Association of Sagy. Mowers, threshers, steam engine, treadmill ... All machines are still in working order, the oldest dating from 1880. Pictures and testimonies from farmers of the French Vexin enhance the visit, completing a projection about the evolution of the agricultural society.
This mill, located 162 meters above sea level at the top of the hill of Mount Trouillet, gives a broad view of the surroundings. From up there, you can admire the Seine valley, which extends to Paris and the valley of Montmorency, bordered by a wooded ridge. Included in the inventory of historical monuments since 1975, the Mill and Miller's House are also protected under the appelation "artistic and picturesque site". Near the Mill, the vineyard was established 7 years ago, has 2049 trees, including 400 of "Pinot Gris" and "Chardonnay" of 1650.
Discover the history of boxing through exceptional objects. The presentation leads adults and children behind the scenes of boxing around the reconstruction of the world of boxing, where are display all the objects of the training and boxers's fetishes trophies . A set of posters, prints and old photos and sculpture show the incredible enthusiasm of all social classes, to artists, for this sport sometimes misjudged.
Valadon-Utrillo Museum opened in 1995 in the Villa Rozée. If this is the old City Hall Sannois, this mansion of the eighteenth century is also one of the oldest monuments of the town. Transformations, which have kept its authenticity, gave him a cultural and heritage vocation, ideal for hosting a museum. Until then, Utrillo-Valadon Museum was dedicated to hosting a unique collection of works of famous painters such as Maurice Utrillo, Suzanne Valadon and André Utter. Nowadays it has two exhibitions areas: the first one is permanent and features works belonging to the city - the other hosts temporary exhibitions.
Opened in 1993, the Naval Museum is a museum association, created by the Marine's Association of Sarcelle and its region, an association founded in 1969. 150 sqm of models, photographs and other objects tell the story of these brave men and their ships ... The reconstruction of a cockpit allows you to take the helm. The Maritime Museum of France invites you to discover more than three centuries of its history.
The tower is located in Saint-Martin-du-Tertre, the highest village in the Ile de France and 200 meters above sea level and nicknamed the "BALCON DE L'ILE DE FRANCE".
Founded in 1236 by Blanche of Castile, Maubuisson Abbey now lives at the rhythm of contemporary creation. With two major annual exhibitions that result in the production of original works, the abbey welcomes established artists, invited to interact with history, architecture, and site environment.
Ecological reserve of fauna and flora in the forest, the area of the "Chateau de la Chasse" witnessed walks of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) and Bernard de Jussieu (1699-1777). It is now a property of the National Forests Office. The cemetery of the naturalist Louis Augustin Bosc (1759-1828), nestled on a hill shaded, is a memorial to all botanists.
Located in the Théméricourt's mansion, the museum of French Vexin is an invitation to discover a land of exceptional landscape and architectural qualities. Visitors can explore during the museum's educational tour some spaces on geology and reading the landscape and play areas on fauna, flora or construction. Immersed in the bucolic charm of the territory through the audiovisual show "If the Vexin were tell ", then it enters in the privacy of a home with the presentation of the collection of art objects and popular tradition held by the spouses Vasseur, ardent defenders of the French Vexin.
Le Moulin de la Naze, formerly home to the Mill, is part of the network of museums and theme houses of the Regional Natural Park of French Vexin. Park values the French Vexin territory and traditional activities which are associated with it: harvesting, milling and bread. Pulleys, cogs and gears set the scene of a forgotten space that brings to life the animated model of a water mill of the eighteenth century. Upon arrival, garden and ground floor plunge visitors into the atmosphere of yesteryear: the waterwheel restored the spectacle of its large blades immersed in the thunderous Sausseron. The history and techniques of Valmondois millers and the region are subject to large display boards and models to be discovered by walking inside the Moulin de la Naze.
Located in the heart of the village of Vauréal in a beautiful farmhouse of 2500sqm, completely renovated in the respect of tradition, the "Cour des Arts" (the Court of Arts) gathers creators artisans and art restorers who work on the wood, earth, metal precious, glass, textile, paper, cardboard, concrete ...
The museum Vémars is the evocation of the place of Francois Mauriac in this village. Inside the Chateau de la Motte rehabilitated, there is the workroom of the writer. Many memories are presented, including a very large collection of books. A comprehensive document analyzing the work of F. Mauriac shows the slow evolution of the Girondin to unconditional eternal rest he found at Vémars. Another traces the history of the property.
Witnessed a turn of the century, the museum takes you back in time and wondered about the evolution of society, its impact on our attitudes and our lifestyles.
This castle, modest and discreet, in his "wooded case" seems dated of the XVII century. Some historians however point out, the presence of a "tour of the White Queen" which could mean that the present castle was erected on the remains of a dungeon. In the 28 hectare park, we notice an excavation of the old icehouse whose "archway" collapsed and a "Temple of Bliss".
The manor of Hazeville, built in 1560 on a site which overlooks the plain of Wy, has been dramatically transformed in the nineteenth century. Guy Deneck, owner, cutting the Angels in his hedge, embroiders his lawn with ground glass, transforms trees into witches and old farm tools into works of art.
Attached to his local history, the General advice of the Val-d'Oise acquired in 2005 the Museum of the Tool, Claude and Françoise Pigeard and his fabulous garden. After restoration works and a new scenography, the museum reopened with the public in 2011.